Gone are the days when you needed one program to download your photos, another for managing them, one for editing and one more for backing them up.

Today’s technophobes need the best of all worlds in one single app that simplify their lives (by doing all these chores). Unifying these task in one single program is important in and of itself, and Lightroom introduces you what lies under its hood—a database.

This is how it all begins. You no longer need a browser-style menu to open all your photos. Instead, you need Lightroom‘s database that handles them all.

Insider Scoop: Important here to note that Lightroom‘s backup function does not backup your photos, but it can help protect you against any data loss by automating the process of creating backup copies. A full system backup procedure outside the world of Lightroom is necessary to protect all your photos.

A Quick Fact: Make sure you’re protecting your data well. The more copies of your data you have on hard drives, the safer you are against any loss of your single copy.

 

Do Yourself a Huge Favor

Lightroom allows you to backup two types of data: The Lightroom catalog or your photos. The first one is the database where Lightroom stores everything —from tweaks to your settings, and from any adjustment you do while working to every bit of metadata. It’s important that you have it in your regular backup. Lightroom allows you to run a backup utility at a set interval or anytime you want. The later does not include your real photos.

But your Lightroom catalog and photos aren’t the only precious data on your hard drive. You should have a routine system-wide backup in place. If you do not have any backup facility, do yourself a huge favor and start right now!

 

You Have to Create Backups

Experts recommend you to use an automated Lightroom‘s backup feature. (Use a third-party backup solution only when you are in dire need.) You can store it anywhere you want. Any hard disk (external, primary or secondary), a USB drive, a DVD ROM or a secured cloud server could work. Lightroom stores it in a default backup directory (C:\Users\User_Name\Pictures\Lightroom\Catalog Name\Backups) and names it in a year-month-date-time format (YYY-MM-DD-HMS).

 

Take Good Advantage of Automatic Backups

Schedule either yourself to run an automated backup system regularly or each time when you start Lightroom. Here’s how:

  1. Go to Adobe Lightroom Control Panel → Tap Edit Catalog SettingsGeneral.
  2. Select When Lightroom next exits in the drop-down menu of Backup Catalog. Tap Save and Exit.

 

Restoring Backups Works

You can also restore backup info this way:

  1. Tap FileCatalog (it prompts you to select the location of backup file)
  2. Now type this in your address bar: C:\Users\User_Name\Pictures\Lightroom\Catalog Name\Backups
  3. Select any file you need to restore and tap Open.

 

Wrapping up: Lighten your Lightroom up

Let’s wrap it up on a cheery note. You sometimes run short of your hard disk space. Local photos are bulky as they consumers GBs of your storage. Lighten your Lightroom up by deleting all old backups and create a space for new backups. Here’s how:

  1. Go to File ExplorerLightroom default backup directoryViewSort by.
  2. Select Date (from the drop-down).
  3. Delete all oldies and your backup is now rearranged.